City of Tracadie

Located in the heart of the Acadian Peninsula, the city of Tracadie is surrounded by two rivers, bordering the Gulf of St. Lawrence. This location allows, of course, a multitude of nautical activities, but also nature hikes thanks to the city’s walking and cycling trails. The beach is also easily accessible from Val-Comeau Provincial Park.


Dynamic, energetic, and welcoming, Tracadie also has everything to entertain you: a cinema, several restaurants, and a festive life during the summer with the Aqua Fête and the activities surrounding the August 15 celebration. A must visit is the Historical Museum of Tracadie, retracing the past of the old leper colony in the city of Tracadie.


Every summer, the city center comes alive for the Tracadie Rush, a festival combining all the arts in Acadian joie de vivre and crowned by fireworks.

Web Site : https://tracadienb.ca/en/

City of Caraquet

Located on the edge of Baie-des-Chaleurs, the town of Caraquet is a vibrant example of the vitality of Acadian culture. In fact, there are many cultural and artistic activities throughout the year, including the Festival of Visual Arts in the Atlantic, the FestiVin, the Song Gala, the Blues Festival, the Acadian Poetry Festival of Caraquet as well as the popular Acadian Festival, which brings together thousands of people every year and culminates in a big, colorful noise during the Acadian National Day, August 15.

 

To make a jump in the past, just go to the unmissable Village historique acadien, where there are buildings dating from 1770 to 1950, all animated by interpreters demonstrating the daily life of Acadians after the deportation. Caraquet also brings together many restaurants for all tastes, allowing you to discover the different flavors of our region. 

Web Site : www.caraquet.ca/en

City of Shippagan

Shippagan is the charm of a city shaped by the sea. Moreover, this city proudly bears the title of “Commercial Fishing Capital of New Brunswick”. You will discover the New Brunswick Aquarium and Marine Center where awaits you a rich collection of fish and invertebrates that inhabit the waters of the Gulf of St. Lawrence, and the lakes and rivers of Atlantic Canada. For over 50 years, in order to highlight the importance of fishing in Shippagan, the New Brunswick Fisheries and Aquaculture Festival began its activities on the second Saturday in July.

 

In Shippagan, throughout the year, several cultural activities take place through “La Maison de la culture” as well as shows and exhibitions of works by local artists held from July  15 to August 15 in “La P’tite Église,” formerly known as United Church.

 

In winter, the Ice Carnival invites you to fully enjoy the pleasures of the cold season (snow sculptures, ice sculptures, “le glacier” bar, outdoor music, inflatable structures, sleigh rides, fireworks, observation rally, boot hockey tournament, washer tournament, volleyball tournament, etc.). The outdoor Arpents de neige inc. Center, located in the magical site of Camping Shippagan, offers a range of outdoor activities to entertain young and old (cross-country skiing, snowshoeing, walking, Santa Claus village, slides for children).

 

During the summer, outdoor enthusiasts will appreciate the enchanting site of Camping Shippagan and will be dazzled by the magnificent landscape surrounding the bike path and the shore path along the sea. At all times, the hospitality and Acadian warmth of Shippagan charms its visitors.

Web Site : www.shippagan.ca

City of Lamèque

The largest of the Acadian Peninsula, Lamèque Island is located between the Gulf of St. Lawrence and Chaleur Bay. Located on the island of Lamèque, the Acadian Peninsula Ecological Park welcomes you in its natural tourist attraction that presents the wonderful biodiversity of flora and fauna of the Acadian Peninsula. The Eco-park is designed to make you discover these riches in their natural environment. In addition to our trail, we have a computerized nature interpretation center where you can learn and explore the five main ecosystems of the Acadian Peninsula. In addition, we offer an enchanting landscape full of nuances, from beaches to forests to peat bogs, the island is home to the picturesque town of Lamèque. The latter lives to the rhythm of the fishing and peat industries, but also to classical music during the International Baroque Music Festival taking place every year in July.

Web Site : www.lameque.ca

The villages and tourist areas

If the territory contains relatively few cities, there are several welcoming villages and communities waiting for your visit!

Get off the beaten track and come to meet the villages of the four main regions of the Acadian Peninsula:

Caraquet region

Acadian Islands Road Region

Tracadie-Sheila region

Neguac region

Caraquet region

This region surrounds the town of Caraquet. Here, the coastal villages of Grande-Anse, Maisonnette and Bas-Caraquet all offer you beautiful beaches as well as several activities not to be missed, including many festivals. In addition, the village of Grande-Anse is home to the Pope’s Museum, retracing the history of Catholicism. Nearby, the village of Saint-Léolin is animated by a community festival in summer and a carnival in winter. The village of Paquetville is closer to the forests and is therefore a beautiful place to taste maple products. For golf lovers, the Pokemouche golf club offers an 18-hole course in a remarkable landscape.

Web sites

City of Caraquet

Village of Bas-Caraquet

Village of Bertrand

Village of Grande-Anse

Village of Maisonette

Village of Paquetville

Village of Saint-Léolin

Acadian Islands Road Region

The Acadian Islands route takes you to visit cozy little corners cradled by the sea. In addition to Shippagan and Lamèque, the main cities of the region, you will discover the villages of Le Goulet and Sainte-Marie-Saint-Raphaël as well as the Miscou Island. With their many beaches, wetlands, and peat bogs, these are privileged places for nature observation and nautical activities.

 

Kitesurfing is also booming in the region, with the Wind & Surf Club which has recently acquired a land nicknamed the “Swimming pool” and considered to be the best site to practice this sport in the country. In addition, an unmissable visit of the region is that of the Miscou lighthouse, overlooking an always splendid nature.

Web sites

City of Shippagan

City of Lamèque

Miscou Island

Village of Le Goulet

Village of Sainte-Marie-Saint-Raphael

Tracadie-Sheila region

The city of Tracadie-Sheila is the urban center of this region, also shared between the sea and the land. On the one hand, the coastal communities such as Val-Comeau and Rivière-du-Portage and on the other, those of the land and forests such as Sainte-Rose, Pont-Landry, and the village of Saint-Isidore. The latter organizes an annual western festival, a regional agricultural exhibition, as well as a 10 km race. St-Isidore is also home to a superb historic church and a museum on the agricultural and forestry history of the region. We meet friendly people everywhere, ready to share the story of their corner of the country with you.

Web sites

City of Tracadie-Sheila

Village of St-Isidore

Neguac region

The southern gateway to the Acadian Peninsula, Neguac demonstrates Acadian joie de vivre. The village offers visitors two festivals, including the Provincial Festival of Giant Pumpkins. Nearby you will find Ile-aux-Foins Provincial Park and its beaches to explore, as well as the Tabusintac Regional Golf Club.

Site Web

Neguac village

Ville de Tracadie

Située au cœur de la Péninsule acadienne, la ville de Tracadie est entourée de deux rivières, en bordure du golfe du Saint-Laurent. Cet emplacement permet bien sûr une multitude d’activités nautiques, mais aussi des randonnées en nature grâce aux sentiers pédestres et cyclables de la ville. La plage est aussi facile d’accès au parc provincial de Val-Comeau.


Dynamique, énergique et accueillante, Tracadie a aussi tout pour vous divertir : un cinéma, plusieurs restaurants et une vie de festivité durant la saison estivale avec l’Aqua fête et les activités entourant la fête du 15 août. Une visite incontournable est celle du Musée historique de Tracadie, retraçant le passé de l’ancienne léproserie de la ville de Tracadie.


Tous les étés, le centre-ville s’anime pour la Ruée de Tracadie, un festival alliant tous les arts dans une joie de vivre acadienne et couronné par un feu d’artifice.

Site Web : www.tracadienb.ca

Ville de Caraquet

Située au bord de la baie des Chaleurs, la ville de Caraquet est un exemple vibrant de la vitalité de la culture acadienne. En effet, on y retrouve de nombreuses activités culturelles et artistiques tout au long de l’année, dont le Festival des arts visuels en Atlantique, le FestiVin, le Gala de la chanson, le Festival de blues, le Festival acadien de poésie de Caraquet ainsi que le populaire Festival acadien, réunissant chaque année des milliers de personnes et culminant en un grand tintamarre coloré lors de la fête nationale des Acadiens, le 15 août.

 

Pour faire un bond dans le passé, il suffit de se rendre à l’incontournable Village Historique Acadien, où on retrouve des bâtiments datant entre 1770 et 1950, le tout animé par des interprètes démontrant la vie quotidienne des Acadiens après la déportation. Caraquet réunit aussi de nombreux restaurants pour tous les goûts, permettant de découvrir les différentes saveurs de notre région. 

Site Web : www.caraquet.ca

Ville de Shippagan

Shippagan, c’est le charme d’une ville façonnée par la mer. Par ailleurs, cette ville porte fièrement le titre de « Capitale de la pêche commerciale du Nouveau-Brunswick ». On y retrouve l’Aquarium et Centre marin du Nouveau-Brunswick où il vous sera possible de découvrir la riche collection de poissons et d’invertébrés qui habitent les eaux du golfe Saint-Laurent, et les lacs et rivières du Canada atlantique. Depuis plus de 50 ans, afin de souligner l’importance de la pêche à Shippagan, le Festival des pêches et de l’aquaculture du Nouveau-Brunswick débute ses activités le 2e samedi du mois de juillet.

 

À Shippagan, tout au long de l’année, ont lieu plusieurs activités culturelles par l’entremise de « La Maison de la culture » ainsi que des spectacles et des expositions d’œuvres d’artistes de chez nous qui se tiennent du 15 juillet au 15 août dans « La P’tite Église », anciennement L’Église United Church.

 

L’hiver, c’est le Carnaval des glaces qui vous invite à profiter pleinement des plaisirs de la saison froide (sculptures de neige, sculptures de glace, bar « le glacier », musique extérieure, structures gonflables, promenades en traîneau à cheval, feu d’artifice, rallye d’observation, tournoi de hockey bottine, tournoi de « washer », tournoi volley-ball, etc.). Le Centre de plein air les Arpents de neige inc., situé dans le site féérique du Camping Shippagan, offre une gamme d’activités extérieures afin de divertir les petits et les grands (ski de fond, raquette, marche, village du père Noël, glissades pour enfant).

 

Durant l’été, les amateurs de plein air apprécieront le site enchanteur du Camping Shippagan et seront éblouis par le magnifique paysage entourant la piste cyclable et le sentier rivage longeant la mer. À tout moment, l’hospitalité et la chaleur acadienne de Shippagan charment ses visiteurs.

Site Web : www.shippagan.ca

Ville de Lamèque

La plus grande des îles de la Péninsule acadienne, l’île de Lamèque est située entre le golfe du Saint-Laurent et la baie des Chaleurs. Situé sur l’île de Lamèque, le Parc écologique de la Péninsule acadienne est une attraction touristique naturelle qui vous présente la merveilleuse biodiversité de la faune et de la flore de la Péninsule acadienne. L’Éco-parc est aménagé de façon à vous faire découvrir ces richesses dans leur environnement naturel. En plus de notre sentier, nous possédons un centre informatisé d’interprétation de la nature où vous pourrez apprendre et explorer les cinq principaux écosystèmes de la Péninsule acadienne. Par ailleurs, on vous offre un paysage enchanteur tout en nuances, des plages aux forêts en passant par les tourbières, l’île abrite la pittoresque ville de Lamèque. Cette dernière vit au rythme des industries de la pêche et de la tourbe, mais aussi de la musique classique lors du Festival international de musique baroque se déroulant tous les ans au mois de juillet.

Site Web : www.lameque.ca

Les villages et régions touristiques

Si le territoire contient relativement peu de villes, plusieurs villages et communautés accueillants attendent votre visite !

Sortez des sentiers battus et venez à la rencontre des villages des quatre régions principales de la Péninsule acadienne :

Région de Caraquet

Région de la route des îles acadiennes

Région de Tracadie-Sheila

Région de Neguac

Région de Caraquet

Cette région entoure la ville de Caraquet. Ici, les villages côtiers de Grande-Anse, Maisonnette et Bas-Caraquet vous offrent tous de belles plages ainsi que plusieurs activités à ne pas manquer, dont de nombreux festivals. De plus, le village de Grande-Anse abrite le Musée des Papes, retraçant l’histoire du catholicisme. Non loin, le village de Saint-Léolin est animé par un festival communautaire l’été et un carnaval l’hiver. Le village de Paquetville est pour sa part plus près des forêts et est ainsi un bel endroit pour déguster les produits de l’érable. Pour les amateurs de golf, le club de golf Pokemouche vous offre un parcours de 18 trous dans un paysage remarquable.

Sites Web

Ville de Caraquet

Village de Bas-Caraquet

Village de Bertrand

Village de Grande-Anse

Village de Maisonnette

Village de Paquetville

Village de Saint-Léolin

Région de la route des îles acadiennes

La route des îles acadienne vous emmène visiter des petits coins chaleureux bercés par la mer. En plus de Shippagan et Lamèque, les villes principales de la région, vous découvrirez les villages de Le Goulet et de Sainte-Marie-Saint-Raphaël ainsi que l’île de Miscou. Avec leurs nombreuses plages, marais et tourbières, ce sont des endroits privilégiés pour l’observation de la nature et pour les activités nautiques.

 

Le kitesurf est d’ailleurs en plein essor dans la région, avec le Club Wind & Surf qui a d’ailleurs fait l’acquisition récente d’un terrain surnommé la « Piscine » et considéré comme le meilleur site pour pratiquer ce sport à l’est du Canada. De plus, une visite incontournable de la région est celle du phare de Miscou, surplombant une nature toujours splendide.

Sites Web

Ville de Shippagan

Ville de Lamèque

Île de Miscou

Village de Le Goulet

Village de Sainte-Marie-Saint-Raphael

Région de Tracadie-Sheila

La ville de Tracadie-Sheila est le centre urbain de cette région, elle aussi partagée entre la mer et la terre. D’un côté, les communautés côtières telles que Val-Comeau et Rivière-du-Portage et de l’autre, celles de la terre et des forêts telles que Sainte-Rose, Pont-Landry et le village de Saint-Isidore. Ce dernier organise chaque année un festival western, une exposition régionale agricole, ainsi qu’une course de 10 km. St-Isidore abrite aussi une superbe église historique et un musée sur l’histoire agricole et forestière de la région. Partout on rencontre des gens chaleureux, prêts à vous faire partager l’histoire de leur coin de pays.

Sites Web

Ville de Tracadie-Sheila

Village de St-Isidore

Région de Neguac

Porte d’entrée sud de la Péninsule acadienne, Neguac démontre une joie de vivre acadienne. Le village offre aux visiteurs deux festivals, dont le Festival provincial des Citrouilles géantes. Tout près, vous retrouverez le Parc provincial de l’Île aux Foins et ses plages à explorer, ainsi que le Club de golf régional de Tabusintac.

Site Web

Village de Neguac